Offer your customers added value on the basis of account data, also under PSD2.

The figo RegShield makes it possible to continue your service – under certain circumstances – without your own licence or registration with the Financial Supervisory Authority despite PSD2 or the National Payments Supervision Act, so you can focus on the essentials – providing the best service to your customers. Put your resources where they bring you the most value and leave the regulatory compliance to us.

Who is this for?

Anyone who theoretically has to apply for a registration/licence as a account information service or payment initiation service in order to continue offering their services since the national implementation of PSD2 in January 2018. The obligation arises as soon as you wish to offer your service. Important: In the final analysis, BaFin will decide on registration and licensing requirements on an individual basis or a possible integration of figo RegShield!

Functionality

The figo RegShield is the right choice for you.

If you access the payment account data of your customers (consumers or companies) via the online banking credentials and/or want to enable your customers to initiate payments from within your application!

Since 2018, the BaFin requires for precisely these cases the registration as an account information service provider (AISP) or a licence as a payment initiation service provider (PISP).

The figo RegShield saves you from the enormous effort that comes along with your own registration or licence!

The figo RegShield offers you a strong partner with extensive PSD2 compliance expertise and an entire team that ensures that your service does not require its own BaFin registration or licence.

How does it work? Since August 16th 2018, figo is a regulated institution under the Payment Services Supervision Act (Zahlungsdiensteaufsichtsgesetz – ZAG), granting figo authorisation by the Federal Financial Supervisory Authority (BaFin) to provide AIS and PIS. With our permission, we enable you to leave the new supervisory duties to figo, via the so-called ‘tripartite contract model’. This saves you from having to build up compliance know-how and resources that have nothing to do with your core business.

Model

The primary objective of financial supervision is to ensure a stable and sound financial system that consumers and businesses can trust. For this reason, those companies that have a contract with the account holder for access to his payment account, must be supervised as AISP or PISP. Through the ‘tripartite contract model’ developed by us, we want to make sure that you act PSD2 compliant without your own registration/licence.

  • The figo RegShield Model

Customer Journey

The figo RegShield provides a user flow compliant with BaFin requirements. It is possible to adapt this to your individual use case. 

  1. Your customer wants to use your service including an account information (AIS) or payment initiation service (PIS). To do so, they  switch to the figo application.
  1. The AIS or PIS process is carried out by figo – a regulated financial institution under the Payment Services Supervision Act (Zahlungsdiensteaufsichtsgesetz – ZAG) and therewith PSD2 compliant.
  2. Back in your application, you can offer your customer the best possible service, based on the obtained account information or initiated payment.
  • Customer Journey

Values

With the new PSD2 approval requirements, there are many requirements that will require both resources and expertise, as well as a high level of administrative and procedural effort on behalf of your business. In order to avoid such complications, we have created the figo RegShield, which relieves you of the burden.

The idea behind this ‘Licence as a Service’ model is perfect for anyone who can not afford the expense of having their own supervision or simply wants to concentrate on their core business.

  • Your Values

The figo RegShield includes four scenarios:

One-time and ongoing account information service (AIS and AIS+) as well as one-time and ongoing payment initiation service (PIS and PIS+).

These are reflected in the products below.  


An API gives you access to sophisticated data from various financial sources, such as bank accounts, credit cards, deposits, PayPal and FinTechs in Europe. The aggregator enables you to design new digital products around account details - such as transactions, revenue history and customers’ financial behaviour - and to satisfy your customers with innovative digital financial services.
  • The aggregator provides you with connectivity to standardised raw data for your product development.
  • The aggregator brings bank data from different accounts into a context - relevant to everyday life.
  • The aggregator is market-proven, secure and scalable.

As a payment initiation service, financial transactions are an important part of your business and you don't want to refer your customers to another service or provider? With the initiator, your customers can easily make secure bank transfers out of your service.
  • The initiator helps you to design processes as seamlessly as possible under PSD2 and to improve the user experience.
  • The initiator helps you to keep customers in your service and to increase customer loyalty.

The tagger automatically translates and categorises financial data and transactions into an understandable language for people & machines. Transaction elements such as reference, amount or transaction type are analysed and categorised based on machine learning (ML) technology. ML enables a continuous improvement of the recognition rate.
  • The tagger enables services such as financial forecast, liquidity determination, intelligent contract management.
  • Understanding transactions & account holders’ behavior made easy.
  • The tagger empowers data to tell a story.

The verifier lets you easily verify all relevant details of a bank account (account owner, balance, transactions, etc.). On the basis of this real-time data, you can make business decisions, such as granting credit or opening an account, in a simplified and immediate manner.
  • The verifier is your tool for automatic, immediate confirmation of bank account data.
  • Allows you to make decisions based on real-time data.
  • Use the verifier e.g. for automatic onboarding of your customers.

Add-ons

PSD2 Passporting

In August 2018, figo received as first and currently sole provider in Germany, the ZAG licence (AIS/PIS). As of November 2018, the transposition of this licence has been successfully approved in Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Netherlands, Slovakia and the United Kingdom (figo is part of Open Banking UK) (November 2018).

Service Levels

If you need us, we are there for you. We offer you different service packages to suit every need. Just talk to us for more details!

Contact

Is RegShield right for you? Contact us for further information and your non-committal, individual quote!

Your contact person

Chris
Head of Partnerships
Tel.: +49 40-228212710
E-Mail: partnerships@figo.io

Talk to us!

Over the last two years, figo has built up the expertise that made the RegShield possible. Our team regularly publishes the most important changes and their impact on market participants in the Compliance Blog. It also includes the ‘figo talks PSD2 Podcast’, which offers orientation and discussion on current topics. Take a look and listen!

Payment & Banking FinTech Podcast: PSD2 and figo Regshield

figo Blog und Podcast Logo

Bieten Sie Ihren Kunden trotz PSD2 Mehrwerte auf der Basis von Kontodaten.

Das figo RegShield macht es möglich, Ihren Service – unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen – trotz PSD2 bzw. des nationalen Zahlungsdiensteaufsichtsgesetzes ohne eigene Lizenz oder Registrierung bei der Finanzaufsicht BaFin weiterzuführen. Setzen Sie Ihre Ressourcen dort ein, wo sie Ihnen am meisten Wert bringen und überlassen Sie die aufsichtsrechtliche Compliance uns.

Für wen?

Alle, die theoretisch selbst eine Registrierung/Lizenz als Kontoinformationsdienst oder Zahlungsauslösedienst beantragen müssen, um ihren Service nach nationaler Umsetzung der PSD2 seit Januar 2018 weiter anbieten zu dürfen. Die Pflicht entsteht, sobald Sie Ihren Service anbieten möchten. Wichtig: In letzter Konsequenz entscheidet die BaFin im Einzelfall über eine Erlaubnispflicht bzw. die mögliche Einbindung des figo RegShield!

Funktionalität

Das figo RegShield ist die richtige Wahl für Sie.

Wenn Sie mittels der Online-Banking-Zugangsdaten auf die Zahlungskontodaten Ihrer Kunden (Verbraucher oder Unternehmen) zugreifen und/oder ihnen ermöglichen möchten, Zahlungen aus Ihrer Anwendung heraus auszulösen!

Die BaFin verlangt genau für solche Fälle seit 2018 eine Registrierung als Kontoinformationsdienst (KID) bzw. eine Lizenz als Zahlungsauslösedienst (ZAD) von Ihnen.

Das figo RegShield nimmt Ihnen den enormen Aufwand, der mit einer eigenen Registrierung bzw. Lizenz einhergeht!

Mit dem figo RegShield profitieren Sie von einem starken Partner mit umfangreicher PSD2-Compliance-Expertise und einem ganzen Team, das sicherstellt, dass Ihr Service keine eigene BaFin-Registrierung bzw. -Lizenz bedarf.

Wie funktioniert das? figo ist seit dem 16. August 2018 unter dem Zahlungsdiensteaufsichtsgesetz (ZAG) regulierter KID und ZAD. Mit unserer Erlaubnis ermöglichen wir Ihnen über das sogenannte ‘dreiseitige Vertragsmodell’, die Aufsichtspflichten figo zu überlassen. Das erspart Ihnen, Compliance-Know-how und Ressourcen aufzubauen, die nichts mit Ihrem Kern-Business zu tun haben.

Modell

Das Primärziel der Finanzaufsicht ist es, ein stabiles und integres Finanzsystem zu gewährleisten, dem Verbraucher und Unternehmen vertrauen können. Deshalb sind diejenigen Unternehmen als KID/ZAD zu beaufsichtigen, die einen Vertrag mit dem Kontoinhaber über den Zugriff auf dessen Zahlungskonto haben. Durch das von uns entwickelte ‘dreiseitige Vertragsmodell’ möchten wir sicherstellen, dass Sie ohne eigene Registrierung/Lizenz PSD2-konform agieren.

  • Das figo RegShield-Modell

Customer Journey

Das figo RegShield liefert Ihnen einen den BaFin-Anforderungen genügenden User-Flow. Diesen können wir auf Ihren individuellen Use Case anpassen.

  1. Ihr Kunde möchte Ihren Service, der einen Kontoinformations- (KID) oder Zahlungsauslösungsdienst (ZAD) umfasst, nutzen. Dazu wechselt er zu figo.
  1. Bei figo wird der der KID- bzw. ZAD-Prozess durchgeführt – von einem regulierten Finanzinstitut nach dem Zahlungsdiensteaufsichtsgesetz (ZAG) und damit PSD2 konform.
  2. Auf Grundlage der erlangten Kontoinformation bzw. ausgelösten Zahlung können Sie Ihrem Kunden – zurück in Ihrer Anwendung – wie gewohnt den bestmöglichen Service bieten.
  • Customer Journey des figo RegShield

Vorteile

Mit den neuen Erlaubnispflichten kommen zahlreiche Anforderungen auf Sie zu, die sowohl Ressourcen als auch Expertise sowie einen hohen administratorischen und prozessualen Aufwand fernab Ihres Geschäftsmodells erfordern. Um Ihnen dieses komplexe Verfahren abzunehmen, haben wir das RegShield entwickelt.

Die Idee dieses ‘Licence as a Service’-Modells ist perfekt für jeden, der den Aufwand einer eigenen Aufsichtspflicht nicht tragen kann oder sich einfach auf das Kerngeschäft konzentrieren möchte.

  • Ihre Vorteile

RegShield Partner können folgende figo Produkte nutzen:


Über eine API erhalten Sie Zugang zu veredelten Daten verschiedener Finanzquellen, wie Bankkonten, Kreditkarten, Depots, PayPal und FinTechs in Europa. Der aggregator ermöglicht Ihnen, neue digitale Produkte rund um Kontodetails – wie Umsätze, Umsatzhistorie und das Finanzverhalten Ihrer Kunden – zu designen und Ihre Kunden mit innovativen, digitalen Finanzservices zufriedenstellen.
  • Der aggregator liefert Ihnen die Konnektivität zu standardisierten & normierten Rohdaten für Ihre Produktentwicklung.
  • Der aggregator bringt Bankdaten verschiedener Konten in einen alltagsrelevanten Kontext.
  • Der aggregator ist markterprobt, sicher und skalierbar.

Als Zahlungsauslösedienst sind Finanztransaktionen ein wichtiger Bestandteil für Ihr Business und Sie möchten Ihre Kunden dafür nicht an einen anderen Service oder Dienstleister verweisen? Mit dem initiator können Ihre Kunden sichere Banküberweisungen einfach aus Ihrem Service heraus ausführen.
  • Der initiator hilft Ihnen, Prozesse so nahtlos wie unter PSD2 möglich zu gestalten und die User Experience zu verbessern.
  • Der initiator hilft Ihnen, Kunden in Ihrem Service zu halten und die Kundenloyalität zu erhöhen.

Der tagger übersetzt und kategorisiert Finanzdaten und Transaktionen automatisch in eine verständliche Sprache für Menschen & Maschinen. Transaktionsbestandteile wie Verwendungszweck, Betrag oder Tranksaktionstyp werden analyisiert und auf Basis von Machine Learning (ML) Technologie kategorisiert. ML ermöglicht eine kontinuierliche Verbesserung des Erkennungsrate.
  • Der tagger ermöglicht Services, wie bspw. Finanz-Forecast, Liquiditätsermittlung, intelligentes Vertragsmanagement.
  • Transaktionen & Verhalten von Kontoinhabern verstehen leicht gemacht. Der tagger befähigt Daten, eine Geschichte zu erzählen.

Der verifier lässt Sie alle relevanten Details eines Bankkontos (Kontoinhaber, Kontostand, Buchungen etc.) automatisch verifizieren. Auf Grundlage dieser realen Echtzeitdaten, können Sie Geschäftsentscheidungen, wie bspw. Kreditvergabe oder Kontoeröffnung, vereinfacht und umgehend treffen.
  • Der verifier ist Ihr Werkzeug für die automatische, sofortige Bestätigung von Bankkontodaten.
  • Ermöglicht Entscheidungen auf Grundlage von realen Echtzeitdaten.
  • Nutzen Sie den verifier bspw. für ein automatisches Onboarding Ihrer Kunden.

Add-ons

PSD2 Passporting

figo ist seit August 2018 ein reguliertes Finanzinstitut nach dem Zahlungsdiensteaufsichtsgesetz (ZAG). Damit hat figo als erster und bislang einziger Anbieter von der Finanzaufsicht BaFin die Erlaubnis erhalten, das sogenannte ‘Licence as a Service’-Modell anzubieten. Inzwischen wurde figo die Umsetzung dieser Lizenz durch entsprechende PSD2-Passports auch in Belgien, Niederlanden, Österreich, Tschechien, Slowakei und dem Vereinigten Königreich genehmigt (Stand November 2018).

Service Levels

Wenn Sie uns brauchen, sind wir für Sie da. Wählen Sie aus mehreren 'Service Level'-Paketen das für Sie passende. Mehr Details gewünscht? Sprechen Sie uns an!

Kontakt

Sie möchten das RegShield nutzen? Kontaktieren Sie uns für weitere Informationen und Ihr unverbindliches, individuelles Angebot!

Ihre Kontaktperson

Chris
Head of Partnerships
Tel.: +49 40-228212710
E-Mail: partnerships@figo.io

 Sprechen Sie uns an!

figo hat über die letzten zwei Jahre die Expertise aufgebaut, die das RegShield erst ermöglicht. Unser Team publiziert regelmäßig die wichtigsten Neuerungen und die entsprechenden Auswirkungen auf die Marktteilnehmer im Compliance Blog. Darunter ist auch der ‚figo spricht PSD2 Podcast‘ zu finden, der Orientierung und Diskussion zu aktuellen Themen bietet. Schauen und hören Sie rein!

figo Blog und Podcast Logo